Peach Cobbler in Jam Jars

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I love jars. Old glass pop bottles, Adam’s peanut butter jars, mason jars, those massive glass jugs filled with cheap wine, really anything cylindrical and made of glass. I just recently recycled half a dozen old soda pop bottles I had been collecting since high school. I did not however recycle the 10 Dry Soda Bottles I’ve been hoarding since my Seattle days. I can’t give them up just yet, wouldn’t they make perfect little vases?

Needless to say, when I first arrived on the east coast and saw Scop’s “juice glasses” that he’d collected and cleaned from all his consumption of Bonne Maman jam, I was excited about all the delicious culinary promise these jars held. I’ve enjoyed yogurt drizzled in honey, indulged in ice cream topped with cookie crumbles, I’ve sipped wine and savored mojitos, and I’ve dunked cookies in ice cold milk, all from these old jam jars. I have also found them to be the perfect picnic companion for beverages or a  fresh batch of hummus. So when I decided to make cobbler with some NY peaches I got from the farmer’s market this week, I knew there was no better way to enjoy this cobbler than in its own little jam jar!

I used this recipe for the peach filling, which I then topped with a few extra blueberries I had hanging around. I halved the recipe and added a little vanilla, ground cloves and a good pinch extra of cinnamon and nutmeg. I used this recipe for the topping from a fellow lover of cobbler in jars. I cut the recipe by three as I was only  making  4 individual cobblers. Top with a little vanilla bean ice cream and enjoy!

One thought on “Peach Cobbler in Jam Jars

  1. Debra says:

    You’re so right about the sweetness and versatility of the quintessential jam jar. I love your photos, and I can just picture each of your so well-described food/beverage items, filling these jars before being joyfully consumed, visually to gastronomically! This cobbler looks so yummy! It’s good to know that the other coast can produce beautiful peaches as well!

Leave a comment