Farm and Goat Sitting

A few weeks ago I had the privilege of goatsitting on Scop’s Dad’s farm while he and his wife were on vacation. They live in a beautiful old, stone farmhouse with the most incredible (and huge) fireplace. I quite enjoyed life on the farm while I was there… Waking up early to feed and water the goats, harvesting and cooking with the fresh vegetables from their garden, watering the plants every evening, and enjoying the sunset and dinner underneath the pergola on their deck. I made homemade bread, pizza and ice cream. We even fired up the grill one Sunday afternoon to make carne asada tortas with refried black beans, jalapenos, fresh garden tomatoes, sour cream, gauco, and cheese, all piled on a kaiser bun.  They were deliciously messy! Unfortunately I did not take any photos of my culinary expeditions, but here are a few of the farm early one foggy morning, and of course I had to snap a few of the goats!

 

Enjoying a Saturday morning breakfast of hay

The light brown kid on the left was my favorite

One thought on “Farm and Goat Sitting

  1. Debra says:

    The foggy mornings look beautiful! What time were you up? It looks like the crack of dawn 🙂 Love the goats! The white goat in the forefront of the “morning breakfast of hay” looks like she may be bleating….”NOooooooo!!!!!!!!!!”
    Also, your culinary endeavors were very ambitious! Right up there with the “backpackers” of the last post!!!

Leave a comment